5th Jan – Board 5: North/South Vul. Dealer North.
Knowing when to bid at the five level is an art in itself and on the hand shown below I think North might make the final bid for the wrong reason, although at the table that is very hard to diagnose.
The above sequence never happened to my knowledge but if it did it would be completely understandable. While the first three bids are self evident West might preempt with 3♠ at his first turn, which would have little effect on North who would simply bid 4♣ causing South to sacrifice over 4♠ instead of North. 4♠ of course doesn’t make, declarer losing two hearts a diamond and a club and neither of course should 5♣, as after an initial spade lead it is only too easy for East to switch to a diamond. So 5♣ is what we call a ‘phantom sacrifice’ done with the best of intentions but unnecessary as it happens. Usually, as in this case, too hard to judge.
No comments:
Post a Comment
If using the 'Anonymous' option for adding a comment please write your name in the comment box so we all know who has commented. You will also need to copy the word shown before you can publish your comment (to reduce spam.) Thanks, Dave.