13th October – Board 18: North/South Vul. Dealer East.
Most people know that a double of an opening 1NT is for penalties but somehow lose sight of the fact that the same rules should apply after an opponent has made an overcall of 1NT. That’s what happened on the hand shown below although the outcome for N/S wasn’t as good as it might have been.
West
|
North
|
East
|
South
|
|
|
No
|
1H
|
1NT
|
Dbl
|
End
|
|
Knowing that his side has the majority of the points North was quite right to double and South waited eagerly for the heart lead. He is still waiting, but North could hardly be blamed for leading his own suit. With diamonds acting kindly E/W escaped for one down although of course on a heart lead an alert defence would make sure that declarer never came to a spade trick and chalk up a 300 point penalty as a consequence. As a corollary if North did bid 2S over the intervention this should show a very weak hand but with a six card suit – but a hand definitely not good enough to double 1NT. And opener would be expected to pass.
No comments:
Post a Comment
If using the 'Anonymous' option for adding a comment please write your name in the comment box so we all know who has commented. You will also need to copy the word shown before you can publish your comment (to reduce spam.) Thanks, Dave.